Our Human Resource Consultants are here to help you with your next big HR project, whether it’s an employee handbook, full HR audit, training, or assistance with a disciplinary issue, termination, hiring and onboarding, or developing new processes. Check out a list of all they do!
Sexual harassment is a serious problem in the workplace and unfortunately, has been for years. Times are certainly changing as now five states in the U.S. have mandated that companies conduct sexual harassment training – California, New York, Maine, Connecticut and Delaware. Regardless of a training requirement, many companies can easily fall into the “not us” trap of complacency. This mindset leads managers and leaders to overlook claims or not investigate them properly, and employees to not report them all.
We are BHI
An independent insurance agency that provides Insurance,
Benefits, Human Resources, and Safety Solutions
to businesses and individuals in
the mid-Atlantic and beyond.
We’re here when you need us most.
Call, email or stop by.
111 Ruthar Drive
Newark, DE 19711
Thoughts from a DE HR professional about the changing regulations, policies, and legislation affecting our workplace and most valuable assets – our human resources.
I think I say it daily to clients, coworkers, friends and family — “we live in interesting times today.” An understatement, for sure. But how did we get here? How did we get to a time where sexual harassment training is now mandated by state law? Have we simply swept this lack of education, self and social awareness, and disregard for such an obvious standard of workplace dignity under the rug for so long that it has now come to this? You bet we did. But there’s so much more to this subject that I’d like to address.
On May 2, 2018, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed the Paid Sick Leave Act into law. The Act will require virtually all employers to provide paid sick leave to employees, effective Oct. 29, 2018. Under the Act:
- All New Jersey employers must provide paid sick leave to their employees;
- Employees will accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours per year; and
- Employees must be paid for paid sick leave at the same rate (and with the same benefits) they normally earn.
Maryland’s New Sick and Safe Leave Law under the Healthy Working Families Act
Effective February 11, 2018, Maryland employers must provide sick and safe leave to their employees, as state legislators recently voted to override Gov. Larry Hogan’s veto of the Healthy Working Families Act. With some exceptions, businesses in the state with 15 or more employees will have to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave to workers each year, and those with fewer employees must provide the same amount of time as unpaid leave. The leave may be used to care for the employee’s own or a family member’s mental or physical illness or injury, parental leave, or issues related to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.